The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

Time for Cake: Very Inspirational Blogger Award

on February 9, 2013

While I was in high school, May was a very exciting time.  It signaled the end of the year, the coming of summer.  Forget the final exams that were just around the corner; there were also medallions and certificates around the corner!  As an “out of the box/closet” nerd, these were the biggest accomplishments that could be acknowledged with hardware.  Each year, there was an award for the highest achieving student in each subject area for each grade level.  It wasn’t unusual for me to receive one of these awards as well as some other random award.

Since May of 2008 (my senior year), I haven’t really received any awards.  So you can imagine my glee when I was nominated for the

vib

by HMC at Soul Stories, “a blog from the heart, to mess with the head” (check it out!!!).  I like that tagline…I was also incredibly flattered by her description of my blog!  Anyways, this award requires me to do a bit more than walk up on a stage and smile.  There are RULES involved.  Let’s see how well I can follow rules.

  • Display the award logo on your blog
  • Link back to the person who nominated you
  • State 7 things about yourself
  • Nominate 15 bloggers for this award and link to them
  • Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award’s requirements

Seven Things About Moi!

  1. DSCN0996I’ve given up planning big things in my life…like where I’ll be a year from now.  I leave that to God.
  2. I love to bake.
  3. I am currently an AmeriCorps volunteer, serving as an elementary school literacy tutor.
  4. I can say “high five!” in Hmong.
  5. Climbing is awesome…as of now, I’ve got 5.9 skills (or so I’m told).
  6. There is currently a bat hibernating on my kitchen counter.
  7. I studied French for seven years.

Phew!  That was hard work…I don’t like talking about myself all that much.  Actually, that was the easy part.  Now I have to nominate 15 bloggers for this award!  I’ll be honest: this is challenging, as I spend more time writing on my blog than reading other blogs (I’m sorry!!  I promise–I love all of you.) .  So, I was very methodical and particular about nominating some snazzy blogosphere peeps.  I can’t just throw this award around willy nilly…so here goes nothing.

And that is that!  A special thanks to HMC, again, for her flattering words and this nomination.  Hopefully you have some fun visiting one of these other blogs and, if you are one of these other blogs, congrats!

3 responses to “Time for Cake: Very Inspirational Blogger Award

  1. HMCWriter says:

    Oh your number one ‘seven things about me’ gave me goose bumps!
    You deserve it 🙂 I’ll be back to visit.

  2. swasian says:

    Thank you for kind words about my post and the nomination!

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

