The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

Losing a Callous

on January 27, 2013
Whoops!

Whoops!

For the past several weeks, I have been climbing regularly.  Last weekend, I noticed that my elbows were terribly achy, so I decided to scale it back a bit.  This weekend, I came home with a ripped up pinkie finger!  But, I refuse to let a bit of loose skin stop me from moving up.

See that?  It’s pretty mild compared to what I found when I googled “climbing callous”.  Apparently there are multiple schools of thought on callouses and how to maintain them, or whether or not they should even be maintained!

DSC_0512

These bad boys are holding on!

That google experience also led me to consider the definition of a callous.  According to Merriam-Webster, there are two definitions of callous.  What I have is 1a: “being hardened and thickened.”  Well, that’s what I had…until I ripped my pinkie open.  I still have hardened and thickened skin in multiple places on multiple other fingers, though.

Back to handy dandy MW, though.  There’s the second definition set for callous: (a) feeling no emotion(b) feeling or showing no sympathy for others.  Sometimes I wonder if I am callous or have developed callouses in certain situations.  And I have no choice but to come to the conclusion that I have

There are certain things about which I am passionate, things that I value.  Towards everything else, I tend to have a more callous attitude.  Wow, that sounds terribly generalized doesn’t it?  So let’s get specific.

Kids

I love working with “at-risk” kids in high-poverty areas.  From what I read and learn, there are apparently a lot of people who don’t have a passion for these kids or who can’t handle working in that environment.  But I have a passion and I can handle the environment…so that is something that I want to pursue.  Kids who don’t fall into this boat…I couldn’t care less.  I am callous towards them.

But the winds of God are blowing…and the sailboat of my life could be heading into uncharted waters.IMG_1336

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

