The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

Construction Equipment

on October 6, 2012

I don’t know a whole lot about construction equipment.  And when I say that I don’t know “a whole lot” I mean that I know next to nothing.  I do know that there is this piece of machinery called a bulldozer.  From what I understand, this machine pushes things over to make way for something new. (Remember–I know next to nothing about this stuff.)  Generally, people aren’t compared to bulldozers.  I think that would be seen as a negative comparison.

Another negative comparison would be a “push over.”  My limited knowledge has no recollection of a piece of machinery called “push over.”  It’s just something used to identify people who can’t stand their ground.  Like I said, a negative comparison.

So, I’ve had this thought rolling around in my head for a while: “Am I a push-over or am I a bulldozer?”

In my newest position as an AmeriCorps tutor in an elementary school, I have actively been trying to make a decision.  I have to provide a certain level of respect to all of the classroom teachers…all the while fulfilling my duties.  I have used the bulldozer/pushover comparison in describing the situation several times.  It is quite the conundrum and I have no answer.

Maybe I should simplify.  I will decide to be a hammer.  There are two sides to me…I can smack someone down or I can pull someone up!  Yes.  I am a hammer.  Multipurpose,…essential on every carpenter’s belt.  Don’t mind me as I beat my way towards building a more literacy-filled future for St. Paul’s youngsters.

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

