The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

A “Welcome Summer” Rain

on May 20, 2012

I looked for a rainbow today, literally.  After I sat around doing mostly nothing after church this morning, I finally decided (at 6:30 pm) that I should return a RedBox movie that I rented last night (One for the Money–not Katherine Heigl’s greatest work).  Instead of hopping in my car and driving two blocks to a gas station, I decided to walk.  The only problem with this decision was the sound of nearing thunder and the scent of impending rain.  Despite these warning signs, I grabbed an umbrella and headed out.

I never had to open the umbrella, despite the drops that had begun to fall by the time I had the disc returned and had turned homeward.  It was a light, cool rain that marred my shirt and the road.  It had the scent of spring, despite the 80+ degree weather that we have had for the past month.  Although the sun was not shining brightly, I decided to glance around on the off chance that a rainbow decided to make an appearance.  Sadly, there was no rainbow to be found.

On the plus side, God spurred me forward in my chase during church this morning.  The sermon was on praying, something that, despite my strongest protestations, I struggle to do.  I could walk upstairs and get my notes, making this post much more reliable…instead, I am going to opt to dig into my brain and give you the pieces that have remained fast in there.

One of the greatest things that my pastor said was that prayer is a privilege.  How honored are we that the Ruler, Creator, Master of the universe would choose to converse with us?  I am merely a jobless, future-less, plan-less college alum who is about to move back in with my parents.  And yet, God makes a point to reach out and touch me in more ways than I can even say.  He gives me the quiet, “welcome summer” rain.  He has given me a few close friends who do not mock my lost-ness.  He has surrounded me with people who say they will pray for me and encourage me to keep pursuing his will.

Ahh–His will.  This is something else that is in my mind from this morning’s sermon.  People talk about pursuing God’s will…yeah, just like I did.  But as long as we are living as He has called, then we are already in His will!  It is not some wild goose chase; instead, it is something that we do on a day to day basis.  Therefore, I must put aside my concerns.

I do not have to search for His Will.  He has it and that is sufficient.

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

