The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

On Sharing

on December 2, 2011

Over the past couple of days, I have been thinking about friendships and opening up.  I didn’t realize that this was the theme of my thoughts until last night, though, at a Bible study.  We started discussing how we are all supposed to share in joys and burdens as a part of the family of God…how sharing helps us grow as a family and as an individual.

I suck at sharing.  Well, not all sharing.  I’m really good at sharing crayons, pencils, cookies…but thoughts, feelings, fears?  Not so much.  Right now, I have a gazillion thoughts, feelings, and fears gushing through my brain and no one knows half of them. My roommate knows about some of them…but she has a lot going on too, so I don’t want to burden her.  And to be perfectly honest, I don’t always feel close to the other people in the Christian organization.  That’s really bad considering that I’m on the leadership team.

I just tend to not like burdening people…like my best friend from high school who is getting married next weekend.  We live three hours apart, so our bond isn’t as solid as I would like for it to be.  And, my heart is hurting because I feel like I am missing out on so many beautiful experiences with her.  My roommate has heard about some of my heartaches…but they go so deep that I’m afraid no one will understand.  And if anyone would, well, it’s just a little problem compared to what others have to deal with.  No one needs to hear my concerns about being a bridesmaid, losing my best friend, finishing my projects, completing my piano jury, and figuring out what I want to be when I grow up. And, even if they did…how would their opinion of me change if they knew all of that?

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

