The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

Nature vs. Nurture

on November 11, 2011

Once again, my mind has returned to the age old debate of nature vs. nurture.  For those of you unfamiliar with this unending argument among theorists in various disciplines (psychology, biology, education, development…), just Google it.  The short version for those of you who do not wish to open up a new window/tab/etc, here’s my definition: Are we who we are because of our genetics or because of our experiences?  Yeah.  That should do.  Man…that’s kind-of complicated, though.  And, it’s not a definition per se, but it will do.

Anyways, why has this crazy debate been in my head?  Well, a while back, I started analyzing myself…trying to figure out why I am the way I am.  What made me ME?  One idea that I kept coming back to was “Nature vs. Nurture”.  I always thought that nature had made me very analytical, precise, organized…OCD, I suppose.  And nurture had given me a touch of compassion…but just a touch.  But, upon further analysis, I found something else.  I pushed my past out of my mind and reflected on my time in college.

I have taken to saying, “I used to be punctual, but then I came to college.”  I can use that phrase in lots of other ways too: I used to be organized…I used to have a clean bedroom…I used to do the dishes in a timely manner…but then I came to college.  And, it’s not just like I’ve all of a sudden become to busy to clean my room and organize my socks.  It’s just that I’ve learned to prioritize.  I’ve also learned that an A+ is not essential, nor is reading textbooks (shh–don’t tell!).  I have become this strangely relaxed person, crazy-relaxed, hippy-ish compared to who I used to be.

And thus, I have decided, that nurture created that analytical, precise, organized, OCD-ish person and my nature just wants to let go of all of that–the lists, the organizational strategies, the color-coded folders.  That’s pretty much what I’ve done.  I will be graduating from college in May and I don’t really know what I’m doing.  I have Plan A, B, and C…and then Z.  I haven’t finished any applications or forms.  Sure, it kind-of freaks me out a little bit.  But I know that, once I get the applications done, it will all be out of my hands.

Okay, so I guess I should admit something.  I am still a bit of a control freak.  Letting someone else do a huge part of a group project drives me bonkers…but, I am doing it.  When I was a freshman, I probably would not have done that.  And, when I was this close to graduating from high school, I had my college applications, scholarship applications, etc turned in.  I was on top of things.  Now?  I’m on top of them…I’m just taking my time and enjoying the view from the top.

A Staircase in Tours, France

A Staircase in Tours, France

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

