The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

2. Saturday: Stargazing

on August 14, 2011

Okay, so here’s what went down.  That website lied.  Saturday night was CRAZY cloudy!  And, here’s the lowdown on what exactly happened.

I got off of work at 10 pm.  I bummed around my house–making coffee, cleaning the kitchen, etc–until 11.  At that point in time, I hopped in my car with a bag of gummy bears and two cups of coffee.  I started driving.  I had looked up a lake with some picnic areas and headed to one of those.  I had planned on putting a blanket down on a picnic table and just staring up.  Five minutes into the drive, I pulled open the sunroof and glanced up…nothing.  I saw a big, bright moon…but no stars.  Then I realized that I was low on gas.  So, I turned around.  I stopped at Wal-Mart for some sort of snack besides gummy bears, got some gas, then went home.  I laid down and took a nap.  When my alarm went off an hour and a half later, I got up and headed for the lake again.

I turned off of the highway and hung a right at a stop sign…then I got nervous.  What if I couldn’t find my way back?  What if I got lost in these backroads?  What if I disappeared forever and ever and ever?  Those thoughts were consuming me as I saw a church.  Since there was a car behind me, there were lots of unknown curves, and I didn’t know where the road was going…I pulled in.

And this is what happened.  The moon was so insanely bright that I couldn’t resist trying to make something beautiful with its light.  yeah, I realize that it’s no Ansel Adams…but, I did what I could with I had (Nikon D60).  I have to admit that, as I sat in that church parking lot…alone…in the dark…I got a little bit freaked out.  What if some crazed maniac with blood spread all over his shirt leaped out of the woods and tackled me?  What if the crazed maniac had blood covering his mouth?  What if the crazed maniac was wielding a weapon?  Ahhh!  So, I hopped in my car and was pretty much ready to go home and call it a night.  But, I didn’t.  Instead, I drove a little ways and then pulled into a little gravel parking area.  There were several other cars there…people fishing on the dark and quiet lake, I’m assuming.  I planned on sitting there for a bit–eating my cheddar and sour cream potato chips and junior mints.  I was going to wait for more stars to emerge from the cloudy sky.  I started in on the junior mints (they’re great for a coffee-free jolt of wakefulness!).  Then, I looked out the window…and there was the great, bold moon.  Once again, she spoke to me.  She became my muse of discovery…the discovery of long exposure:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yeah!  I know, I know: amateur hour.  Don’t judge…because if you judge, you will not be judging my photography, but instead, my use of God’s beauty.  Yeah!

As I was driving out to this lake, I could feel my spirits slowly fall.  The clouds were covering the sky and the moon was so bright it would undoubtedly hide any stars that made it through the smoggy clouds.  So, I prayed…I don’t even remember what I prayed.  I just wanted to see beauty…to have the opportunity to revel in the glory and power that is God.  And, I got to do that.  Sure, I was assisted by a bit of technology.  But that’s completely irrelevant.  God is in everything that we do.  Even when our plans (such as stargazing) don’t happen due to interferences beyond our control (like clouds)…He is there.  He knows what will put smiles on our silly little faces.

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

