The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

Employment

on July 19, 2011

I have found employment, after looking since April.  And, the application that resulted in this current position…yes, it was submitted in April.  On the 25th to be exact and I was hired on June 30th.  Yeah.

So, this job.  I am working at a group home where eight ladies with developmental disabilities dwell.  I cook meals.  I clean.  I give showers.  I wipe tushies.  Yep.  True story…every day that I go to work I wipe at least one tushie and change at least one adult diaper.  It happens (I was just incredibly tempted to make an inappropriate comment).  The job itself isn’t so bad.  I randomly have down time when there’s no laundry to fold, no meal to prepare, and no one who needs changing.  And the ladies who live there aren’t difficult to deal with…as a general rule.

But…as always, there’s a “but” (either grammatically or, well, to wipe)…my coworkers are frustrating.  They’re always in a tiff with someone else, talking about someone else behind their back, nit-picking…grr.  So, what did I do?  I decided that I needed something new on my mirror.  I started looking at a verse about doing everything for God’s glory…which I truly need to think about.  But, I moved on towards focusing on love and such…here’s what I found:

Therefore, we do not lose heart.  Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.  For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.  So we fix our eyes not on what is seen but what is unseen.  For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

2 Corinthians 4:16-18

When I was in high school, I tried this thing for a while where I memorized Bible verses…or, chunks at a time, I guess.  I memorized these verses as part of one of those chunks.  So, when I came across these verses in my randomized searches, I grabbed ahold of them.  Like I said last time though, my mirror is kind-of small and I like to write big.  Obviously, this chunk won’t fit.  My “mirror words” are going to be: “Inwardly we are being renewed day by day.”  I like it, don’t you?

Once I started working, my life got CRAZY.  I’m taking classes–which takes time to go to class and a ton of time to do homework.  Plus, while I started working I was also starting a ton of training classes.  Last week, I worked 38 hours and was in training for 10…or something outrageous like that.  Oh, and I still have to manage to keep my home looking decent, food in my fridge (that’s actually getting a little low now), and my body in decent shape (that’s a total fail–I went and got ice cream tonight).

So, after this past week, I was wiped out.  I really wanted a day to zone out, time to find inner peace and quiet.  That was supposed to be today…but I ended up working…at 6 am.  But, ya know what?  I decided that the 6 am shift is my favorite.  And, then I found this verse.  I don’t need to sleep in late to find renewal.  True renewal comes from somewhere beyond my power.  Renewal comes from God.

Let me be renewed as deeply as the sun sets around the earth.

Tell me about your rainbow chase!

