The Twin Cities Rainbow Chaser

moving across the country…to discover what God has in store

Kiss of the Horizon

I think that it is time to write something new on my mirror, don’t you?  So, I’ve been thinking about this for a while now…well, since last time.  Last time, I kept coming back to the song “How He Loves” by the David Crowder*Band.  I can’t remember the first time that I heard this song and I definitely can’t remember the first time that I stopped to think about the words.  At some point in time though, I stopped to reflect on them.  On their power.  Their truth.  Their significance in my own life.  In case you have not heard the song, try this link: How He Loves (hopefully that works…fingers crossed).

So, what words have I decided to take to heart over the next couple of weeks?  Which words will be engraved on my heart so that I might remember where I have come from and my purpose here on Earth?

And heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss

And my heart turns violently inside my chest.

I don’t have time to maintain these regrets

When I think about the way…

He Loves.

I cannot express in words just how powerful all of those words are in my heart.  Somethings stirs deep inside.  Something gets excited (don’t start thinking dirty thoughts, please).  He Loves, yes.  But, how does he love?

God loves me with a power and a passion that cannot be compared to any love that we mere humans have ever experienced.  We cannot fathom the depths or height of the love that comes from God.  He loves us more than I love coffee.  And, He loves us more than a parent loves a child.  He loves us when we are living good “Christian” lives.  And, more importantly, he loves us when we screw up beyond repair.  I cannot find the words to express this love…I give up.

Moving on…how do I know that He loves?  What is that line–“heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss”…yes.  Have you ever seen the horizon?  Have you ever felt the desire to chase after the horizon just to try and find the end?  The horizon is the unending kiss demonstrating the love of God.  How wonderfully divine is that?

I may not write that whole little verse on my mirror…I like to write kind-of big so that I can read the words…and my mirror isn’t huge.  We’ll see.  But, just thinking about one line will remind me of the song and the emotion that fills my heart every time that I hear this part of the song.  Whenever I hear it, my heart “turns violently inside of my chest and I don’t have time to maintain these regrets” because I have no choice but to reflect on the eternal love of God.

Leave a comment »